Posted in Books and Reading

What We’ve Been Reading Lately

A few days ago, I decided to stop by one of our local bookstores to see if I could find any good bargains. I scanned the bargain shelf to see what treasures I might find. I got some great deals and plan to go back again in the next week or two to hopefully buy a few more bargain priced books. 🙂

Bargain Books

We read about the lives of Saints in our morning time; but I’ve been wanting to find a book about the lives Saints for my own personal reading. I was tickled to find one!

The Emerald City of Oz is a collection of books 6-10 of The Wizard of Oz series by L. Frank Baum. Did you know there were 14 books in this series? I just finished Book 5 this past week so I was glad to see the collection of books 6-10 on the bargain shelf!

Time to Get a Pet is just a fun little activity set that practices some math concepts. My daughter loves animals so I know she will love this activity set.

Now on to what we’ve been reading lately…..

Little Bit (She’s 9yo)
She’s been re-reading a number of books lately. She loves to re-read favorite books. But she’s also been reading some new books as well. Here’s a sampling of what she’s been reading lately:

The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett
American Tall Tales by Adrien Stoutenberg
Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard and Florence Atwater
The Burgess Bird Book by Thorton W. Burgess (We read a portion of this for school in Year 2. She’s been re-reading what we already read and then finishing the rest of the book.)
Nate the Great by Marjorie Weinman Sharmat
How to Speak Dog by Aline Alexander Newman and Gary Weitzman
D’Aulaire’s Book of Greek Myths

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Books I’ve Been Pre-Reading
I’ve been pre-reading children’s books for summer reading for my daughter. Also, in the last two weeks, I’ve begun pre-reading books for Year 4.

Summer Reading

So first, some of the summer reading stack I pre-read for my daughter:

Miranda the Great by Eleanor Estes
The Moffats by Eleanor Estes
Thimble Summer by Elizabeth Enright
Ribsy by Beverly Cleary
The Wizard of Oz Series Books 1-5 by L. Frank Baum
Chanticleer and the Fox by Geoffrey Chaucer and Barbara Cooney

Miranda the Great is not in the picture above because I checked it out at the library to pre-read. It’s on my list to order.
Year 4 Pre-reading

School Books I’m Currently Pre-Reading:

Minn of the Mississippi by Holling C. Holling – *Finished*
George Washington’s World by Genevieve Foster
Poor Richard by James Daugherty- *Finished*
The Story Book of Science by Jean Henri Fabre *Currently reading*
The Age of Fable
The Incredible Journey by Sheila Burnford
Marie Curie’s Search for Radium
by Beverley Birch and
Christian Birmingham – *Finished*

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And I have a pretty good stack of books building up for me to pre-read for free reading this coming school year:

Books To Pre-Read

Aside from children’s books and school books, here’s a look at other books I have finished reading in the last few months:


Another book I am slowly making my way through is When the Church Was Young:  Voices of the Early Fathers by Marcellino D’Ambrosio. It’s on my Kindle and I usually try to read a little of it before I go to bed at night. A book I’m thinking about grabbing off the bookshelf and reading again is The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera. I read this book last year and really enjoyed it and have been wanting to read it again.

What have you been reading lately? I always love to hear about what books others are reading!

3 thoughts on “What We’ve Been Reading Lately

  1. What a great list of books! I bought The Awakening of Miss Prim awhile back but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet – glad to know it’s one worth rereading! One of my daughters is going into year 4 next year as well, so we have some of the same books happening 🙂 I have a whole other stack of books that I’m reading now but the two I’m enjoying most are Parenting Toward the Kingdom and Moby Dick. The rest of my books are listed in the sidebar on my blog.

    Like

    1. Hey Lisa! Thanks for stopping by! Yes, I really enjoyed The Awakening of Miss Prim. I don’t do a lot of re-reading. But this is definitely one I wanted to read again. 🙂 So you have one going into Year 4 too. I’ve been focusing mainly on pre-reading right now; but I’ll be getting ready to work on the schedule part of things here soon. So you are enjoying Moby Dick? I hear so many say that they didn’t like it. I have it on my bookshelf but have yet to tackle it. I haven’t had much desire to *want* to tackle it. LOL But I really should try to give it a go at some point.

      Like

  2. Your daughter’s summer stack is luscious! Sometimes I wish I had gobs of summer free reading time like I had when I was a kid and could actually fill it with the *good* stuff instead of twaddle! I read way too much twaddly series fiction as a kid. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

